TESOL teaching links


This page was formerly part of the TESOL section of the E-language Wiki. The TESOL material was separated from the main wiki in early 2010, in order to give the wiki a more direct and exclusive focus on e-learning. The TESOL material is no longer updated but will continue to be available at this URL. You can also consult a selection of TESOL-related web references in the TESOL tag cloud. Please feel free to copy and reuse any of this material for your own purposes.

general / low levels / literacy / vocabulary / grammar / translation / reading / writing / listening / dictation / listening & reading / speaking / text to speech / online exchanges / games / make your own exercises & games / e-learning tools / academic / current events / miscellaneous / references



General
BBC Learning English • http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/
Daily English Activities • http://daily-english-activities.blogspot.com/
Dave’s ESL Café • http://www.eslcafe.com/
English, Baby! • http://www.englishbaby.com/
English Interactive • http://acacia.cnice.mecd.es/%7Eagip0002/auro/inicio.html
Englishpage.com • http://www.englishpage.com/
Everyday Life Project • http://www.gcflearnfree.org/everydaylife/
Lanternfish [formerly Boggle's World] • http://bogglesworldesl.com/
One Stop English • http://www.onestopenglish.com/
OUP I’m Learning English • http://www.oup.com/elt/students/?cc=global
Total English Free Resources • http://www.pearsonlongman.com/totalenglish/resources/resources.html
TPR Exercises • http://www.digischool.nl/oefenen/hennyjellema/engels/tpr/voorbladtpr.htm
UFC English On-Line • http://cla.univ-fcomte.fr/english/index_s.htm

Low levels
British Council LearnEnglish Kids • http://www.britishcouncil.org/kids.htm
EFL Playhouse • http://www.esl4kids.net/
Hello-World: Learn English Online! • http://www.hello-world.com/English/EN_English.php
Houghton Mifflin Spelling & Vocabulary • http://www.eduplace.com/kids/sv/
Starfall • http://www.starfall.com/

Literacy
BBC KS1 Bitesize • http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/ks1bitesize/

Vocabulary
Babbel • http://www.babbel.com/
BBC Wordmaster • http://english.enorth.com.cn/bbcenglish/wordmaster/
Confusing Words • http://www.confusingwords.com/index.php
The Free Dictionary [customisable, interactive start page] • http://www.thefreedictionary.com/
Free Rice • http://www.freerice.com/index.php
Keep Your English Up to Date • http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/radio/specials/1728_uptodate/
Lingro • http://lingro.com/
Peak English [idioms] • http://www.peakenglish.com/slang/slangSearch.jsp
Phrases.net [phrasal verbs] • http://www.phrases.net/
RhymeZone [rhymes] • http://www.rhymezone.com/
Shahi Visual Dictionary • http://blachan.com/shahi/
Thsrs [shorter words thesaurus] • http://www.ironicsans.com/thsrs/
Visuwords • http://www.visuwords.com/
VocabSushi [vocabulary builder] • http://www.vocabsushi.com/
WordAhead [vocabulary videos] • http://www.wordahead.com/
Wordia [user-generated videoclip dictionary] • http://wordia.com/
WordSift [key word visualiser, thesaurus & dictionary] • http://www.wordsift.com/
Word Spy [neologisms] • http://www.wordspy.com/
WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary • http://www.writeexpress.com/online2.html
Write Rhymes • http://www.writerhymes.com/

Grammar
British Council Grammar Games • http://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/en/grammar-games
Grammarman Comics • http://www.grammarmancomic.com/comics.html

Reading
ZAPReader [speed reading] • http://www.makeuseof.com/dir/zap-reader-learn-fast-reading/

Writing
Online Writing Lab • http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

Translation
Oddcast Text to Speech Translator • http://www.oddcast.com/home/demos/tts/tts_tran_example.php?sitepal
Online Translator • http://free-translator.imtranslator.net/speech.asp#/

Listening
Australia Network Learn English • http://australianetwork.com/studyenglish/
Randall’s ESL Cyber Listening Lab • http://www.esl-lab.com/
Text to Speech • http://free-translator.imtranslator.net/speech.asp#/

Dictation
Listen and Write • http://www.listen-and-write.com/

Listening & reading
Literacyworks Learning Resources • http://literacynet.org/cnnsf/

Speaking
Broadlearn [IELTS preparation videos] • http://www.youtube.com/broadlearn or http://www.teachertube.com/uprofile.php?UID=113058
Forvo: The Pronunciation Guide • http://forvo.com/
IDEA Debatabase [debating materials] • http://www.idebate.org/debatabase/
Phonetics Focus • http://www.cambridgeenglishonline.com/Phonetics_Focus/
Practice with Patty [interactive text/spoken conversation] • http://eflclassroom.ning.com/

Text to Speech
HearWho • http://www.hearwho.com/default.aspx
Text to Speech • http://free-translator.imtranslator.net/speech.asp#/

Online exchanges
English Roleplay • http://www.englishroleplay.com/
eTandem • http://www.slf.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/etandem/etindex-en.html
iTalki • http://www.italki.com/
Mixxer • http://www.language-exchanges.org/
My Language Exchange • http://www.mylanguageexchange.com/
Rosetta Stone Shared Talk • http://www.sharedtalk.com/
xLingo • http://www.xlingo.com/

Games

See Web 1.0: Quizzes

Make your own exercises & games

See E-tools: Activity templates .

E-learning tools

See E-tools.

Academic
HKPU/CILL Academic Vocabulary • http://elc.polyu.edu.hk/cill/vocabula.htm
Using English for Academic Purposes • http://www.uefap.com/vocab/vocfram.htm

Current events
The Age Education • http://www.education.theage.com.au/
Breaking News English • http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/

Miscellaneous
Australia Day • http://www.australiaday.gov.au/pages/index.asp
Worldmapper • http://www.sasi.group.shef.ac.uk/worldmapper/

References
British Council / BBC Teaching English [for teachers] • http://www.teachingenglish.org.uk/
British Council Teaching Knowledge Database [TESOL terminology] • http://www.teachingenglish.org.uk/download/knowledge.shtml
Common Errors in English • http://www.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/errors.html
EFL Classroom 2.0 [Web 2.0 tools for teachers] • http://eflclassroom.ning.com/
E-Language/TESOL References • http://e-language.wikispaces.com/tesol-tagcloud
ELT Wiki [ELT glossary] • http://elt-wiki.cw.idm.fr/elt-wiki/index.php/Main_Page
English Software [grammar & spelling checker, etc] • http://www.englishsoftware.org/
Faculty Development Associates Online Resources • http://www.developfaculty.com/online/index.html
IATEFL Articles Bank [for teachers] • http://associates.iatefl.org/pages/materials/index.html
ISC Study Tips • http://isc.qmuc.ac.uk/tips/default.htm
Larry Ferlazzo [resources index] • http://larryferlazzo.com/english.html
Learning Technology Teacher Development Blog for ELT [useful websites & online software] • http://nikpeachey.blogspot.com/
Teach - WATESOL > TESOL Acronyms • http://www.watesol.org.au/teach.html#a1052
Technology in ELT [wiki for teachers] • http://technogogyelt.wetpaint.com/
TEFLpedia [wiki for teachers] • http://teflpedia.com/index.php?title=Main_Page
Tower of English [resources index] • http://towerofenglish.com/index.html
UMelb Language & Learning Skills Unit: ESL • http://www.services.unimelb.edu.au/llsu/resources/esl/



Contact: I owe the Babbel, GIFup, gwap, Listen & Write, Photo Soup & Phrasr links to Nik Peachey, the Grammarman Comics link to Casey Mulder, and the Teach - WATESOL link to Tom Salmon. Please contact me if you have any queries about this page.